Some history is required

To get a good handle on what this blog is about it is important that I provide some backgorund to my new venture. I’ve been involved in the wine industry since 1996 in both Tasmania and South Australia and for the last 6 years in the Barossa Valley. Over the past 3-4 years I have also been an active homebrewer and craft beer lover. I have reviewed over 340 beers at ratebeer.com and enjoyed countless great wines from around Australia and the world. When I was a teenager, around 14-15 I discovered Guns N Roses, this changed my life forever. Suddenly music evoked a lot of emotion in me and I found that I could turn to music to find solace in my teenage angst.

From then on it was a constant rollercoaster of musical discovery, I found bands like REM and Aerosmith then the heavier bands like Metallica and Pantera.It was also at this time that Grunge really took off and I fell in love with Alice In Chains and Soundgarden. Grunge was my new musical taste and I couldn’t get enough of it. However, my heavier side never went away and I was discovering Slayer, Machine Head and others at the same time. Fast forward about 10 years from then andn I was attending every metals show that was touring Adelaide; from Mastodon and Slayer to Machine Head, Trivium, Slipknot and Arch Enemy. One day whilst working at Rockford Wines in the Barossa Valley I met a guy who changed everything.

To be continued…..

About distortedbeveragesblog

This blog is about starting my heavy metal based wine and beer company, Distorted Beverages. This blog will cover my thoughts, experiences, trials & tribulations and most importantly triumphs in this new, exciting adventure. View all posts by distortedbeveragesblog

Leave a Reply

